Peach and Chickpea Curry, Hummus and Saffron and Lemon Chicken

Now I’m at university I haven’t had much of an opportunity to update my blog!

I am still enjoying trying new recipes but, i’m trying to do so on a budget now! As a present from my parents for Christmas I got a new cookbook: A Girl Called Jack. This has become a new favourite and I thought I would share this easy and affordable meal.

Recipe: A Girl Called Jack, also available on blog http://cookingonabootstrap.com/2014/09/02/jardaloo-ma-murghi-curry-with-apricots-22p/

PEACH AND CHICKPEA CURRY

Serves 2 for dinner, with leftovers for a light lunch.

250g canned chickpeas (drained weight)
1 onion
1 fat clove of garlic
1 chilli
a splash of oil
1 rounded tsp cumin (ground or seeds)
1 x 400g tin of peaches (or apricots or mandarins)
1 x 400f carton or tin of chopped tomatoes
a handful of fresh coriander, finely chopped
1 stock cube, veg or chicken

This was really good just with rice.

The next day I had the leftovers with pitta bread, homemade hummus and saffron and lemon chicken. All the elements of the meal complement each other really well!

Hummus (makes lots! I have lots frozen now in my freezer, will sort me out for the whole term I think!)

Recipe: Persiana by Sabrina Ghayour

HUMMUS

3x 400g can of chickpeas (reserve liquid of 1 1/4 cans)
4tbsp olive oil
4 tbsp garlic oil
juice of 3 lemons
4 tbsp light tahini
2 tbsp sea salt
sprinkling of paprika

I found the recipe had too much salt and liquid, but it is easy to alter this to your preference. I also added more lemon juice and coriander – as this is my favourite way to have hummus, and I had some in my fridge from the above curry.

Recipe: Persiana again!

SAFFRON AND LEMON CHICKEN

Serves 4

4 onions, cut in half and thinly sliced into half moons
juice of 5 lemons
4 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp ground turmeric
400g Greek Yoghurt
3 tbsp sea salt flakes
generous pinch of saffron threads
3 tbsp boiling water
6 large boneless chicken breasts, cut into 5cm pieces

I found half this recipe was enough to feed me, a flatmate and enough for leftovers. Again another really easy recipe as long as you plan far enough ahead to marinate the chicken. I originally started grilling the chicken but put it in the oven after it took too long. Tasted fantastic, think grilling or barbecuing would be better but working in university halls can be limiting!

 

 

Leave a Reply

